Print Toggle font size

Mr. Trygve Seglem Honored For Outstanding Contributions To Merchant Marine Environmental Protection

(Stamford, CT, 05 April 2010) Knutsen OAS Shipping, Managing Director, Trygve Seglem was awarded the prestigious Halert C. Shepheard Award by the Chamber of Shipping of America at the CMA Shipping 2010 Delegates Luncheon at the Hilton Hotel in Stamford, CT.

The award recognizes an individual who has made exceptional achievements toward merchant marine safety, security or environmental protection; or in recognition of dedication to, or exceptional leadership in activities associated with safety, security or environmental protection over a period of time. The “Reach for the Stars” Steuben Crystal presented to Seglem was first awarded in 1975 by the Chamber in honor of Admiral Halert C. Shepheard who contributed greatly throughout his professional life to enhancing maritime safety. Seglem joins an elite group of eminent maritime professionals to receive this award.

In addition to his leadership and his motto “Think first; Act safe” Seglem has a taken a shipping company from bankruptcy to in the forefront of shuttle tanker shipping in the North Sea. When restrictions on VOC emissions were introduced in Norway, he looked at the available technology and believed there was a better way to reduce emissions. Knutsen OAS Shipping developed their system which has received approval from Norway and many other nations. Knutsen is currently researching the use of their technology in reducing, or possibly, eliminating invasive species in ballast water.

Joe Cox, President of CSA, said “The Awards Committee was particularly impressed that, with the leadership of Trygve Seglem, Knutsen OAS which is a privately held company spent millions of dollars of their own funds in seeking a solution to the VOC problem.” Photo attached of the “Shep Award recipient – left to right Mr. Ed Waryas, Vice President of Lloyd’s Register Americas, Inc.; Mr. Trygve Seglem “Shep Award” recipient of Knutsen OAS Shipping; Mr. Michael T. Bohlman, Horizon Lines and Chairman of the Board for CSA; and Mr. Joseph J. Cox, President and CEO of CSA.

Chamber of Shipping of America Award (CSA)